Boyd County Fiscal Court Header

Court HouseBoyd County Court House

The County Courthouse serves as the main office for all of Boyd County's local government decision making, planning, and operations departments. The Courthouse houses most primary offices such as the Judge Executive Office, PVA, County Clerk, Emergency Management, and County Attorney's offices.

Boyd County Officials

County Judge Executive
Eric Chaney

Commissioner: District 1
Keith Watts

Commissioner: District 2
Larry D. Brown

Commissioner: District 3
Randy Stapleton



Fiscal Court Schedule

The Boyd County Fiscal Court will meet in
Regular Session on the following dates:

Tuesday, September 3rd, at 12 noon

As Needed, special meetings may be called
under KRS guidelines. If there are any changes in the above schedule, Proper notification will be made through various media sources.


BCFC Bid Information for Single Axle Dump Truck with Snow Equipment

BCFC 2019 Bid Information for BC HVAC PM

BCFC 2019 Bid Information for the BC Animal Shelter

BCFC Inquiry-Complaint Form

founder of Boyd CountyIn 1860, Boyd County was created from parts of Greenup, Carter, and Lawrence counties. It was named in honor of Linn Boyd who had served as U.S. Congressman as a representative of western Kentucky.
Born in Nashville, Tennessee on November 22, 1800, he moved to the Jackson Purchase on a farm in Calloway County in 1826. He represented Calloway County in 1828-29 in the Kentucky legislature at the same time his father, Abraham Boyd, represented Trigg County. He was elected to the U.S. Congress and served 1835-37 until he was unseated by the Whigs.

Democrats regained control of his district and Boyd served continuously in the U. S. House of Representatives from 1835-1855. He helped Henry Clay with the Compromise of 1850 and was Speaker of the House from 1851-55. He was a strong supporter of Andrew Jackson and states rights, but insisted on preserving the Union. He ran for Vice President in 1856 but was defeated. In 1859, he was elected lieutenant governor of Kentucky but did not live to take the office. He died December 17, 1859 and is buried in Oak Grove Cemetery at Paducah.

The Boyd County courthouse is located in Catlettsburg, Ky...

Learn More About Boyd County Kentucky